Happy Staff Appreciation Week: Celebrating Our STARs

June 13, 2018

Dear Colleagues,

In celebration of Staff Appreciation Week, I want to extend a note of gratitude for all the hard work and dedication each of you bring to our IST/OCIO team. We are fortunate to have an extraordinary number of talented people who are an integral part of our One IT community. We appreciate your efforts in providing excellent customer service, meeting the needs of our campus partners, and playing a key role in the initiatives that are vital to the success of IT and UC Berkeley.

Celebrating Our STARs

Through the UC Staff Appreciation and Recognition (STAR) program, we have the opportunity to acknowledge and reward exemplary performance and contributions by individual employees or teams each year. Please join me in congratulating the 2017-18 IST/OCIO STAR award recipients listed below for their accomplishments. In IST/OCIO, achievement award nominations are reviewed on an annual basis in late spring but you can always thank or celebrate a colleague throughout the year by nominating them for Spot Awards or Pay It Forward. We will host our annual One IT staff appreciation event this fall, stay tuned for more info!

Summerfest is Today

As a reminder, Summerfest will be held today, Wednesday, June 13 from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. There will be food trucks available for the duration of the event. Managers are encouraged to stagger their staff’s time-off to attend over the three hours as business needs allow. You must bring your staff Cal ID card to Summerfest where it will be scanned to get a ticket for food and a t-shirt. This event is for people currently in a staff job classification title as well as our library colleagues.

Thank you for your service to the UC Berkeley community!



2017-18 IST/OCIO STAR Awards Recipients

Achievement Awards

Individual Recipients

Darin Clarke

Jon Conhaim

Chris Doane

Anji Gannavarapu

Martin Garcia

Naresh Meda

Judy Meers

Joe Mitola

Aswan Movva

Vahid Nadi

Marc Pechaitis

Rob Taber

Mike Valenza

Box Team Recipients

Jennifer Bellenger

Ian Crew

Cal Answers Finance Team Recipients

Quin Bligh

Peter Cava

Sameer D’Souza

Frances Kendall

CalNet 2-Step Authentication Team Recipients

Karl Grose

Brian Koehmstedt

Jeff McCullough

Ronnie Ong

Jeremy Rosenberg

e911 Next Gen Deployment Team Recipients

Marina Bennett

Jay Bryon

Irma Donaldson

Geovanni Herrera

Terri Kouba

Bruce Lorenzen

Isaac Orr

Stella Pretzlaf

Jovie Soliman

Jim Williams

Kevin Wong

Enrollment Working Group (EWG) Team Recipients

Rachel Hollowgrass

Ross Stivison

New Admit Experience Team Recipients

Chara Bui

Barbara Sowden

PeopleSoft Team Recipients

Srilatha Chennamaneni

Glenda De Guzman

Francis Gomes

David Hathorn

Lyuda Kerman

Zoey Lin

Jeff Makaiwi

Pradeep Narayanan

Adam Ng

Venkat Tetali

Padma Vemula

Alan Willcuts


Spot Awards

Steve Aguirre

Saundra Alexander

Eric Armstrong

Jennifer Bellenger

Tyrone Bennett

Lisa Chang

David Cheng

Srilatha Chennamaneni

Evan Cheung

Kim Chhay-Wade

Kong Chou

Peter Collins

Ian Crew

Janhavi Deshpande

Johnny Dunn

Jeff Foster

Ernest Gomes

Franciler Harper-Brown

Jon Hays

Tim Heidinger

Peter Hsieh

Blaine Isbelle

John Lee

Ralph Lieu

Zoey Lin

Andrea Lloyd

Anne Lyttle

Josh Maloney

Katy Maloney

Isaac Mankita

Adrianne Mann

Rich McGowan

Max Michel

Jason Miller

Laurie Milward

Joe Mitola

Raghu Musini

Deepthika Nallaparaju

Rosalind Nevels

Elizabeth Perri

Marc Pechaitis

Stella Pretzlaf

Keerthy Puttagunta

David Rieger

Nolan Ross

Kaz Senoglu

Stephanie Sorensen

Barbara Sowden

Ahmed Syed

Rob Taber

Anne Tambe

Santhosh Thimmaiah

Olga Tomenko

Leslie Wills

Brian Wood

Margarita Zeglin

Related Links: Learn More About STAR | Excellence in Management Award Recipients | One IT | Pay IT Forward | Ask Questions